top of page

Oral Health Champion Award

The Rhode Island Oral Health Coalition's, Oral Health Champion Award is given to an individual who exemplifies the mission and vision of the Rhode Island Oral Health Coalition by improving the oral health of all Rhode Islanders. This award will be presented at the Annual meeting.


Awardee selection guidelines:

  • Nominations will be solicited from Coalition members in "good standing" 

  • Any previous awardee may be re-nominated, in non-consecutive years.

  • Nominees must have demonstrated commitment to oral health and displayed positive influence affecting the oral health of Rhode Island residents.

  • Executive Board will make the final selection from the balloting of names submitted, with the nominee who receives the majority votes as the  awardee

  • The Final selection will be conducted one month prior to the Annual meeting in which the award will be given.

2023 Oral Health Champion:
Sadie DeCourcy


Sadie has been a transformative leader in Rhode Island's oral health sector for over seven years. Her oversight of the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project, emphasizes her dedication to improving oral health for pregnant women and young children. This project was marked by stellar organization and effective collaboration, and has significantly benefited Rhode Islanders. She's facilitated knowledge exchange between states, leveraging learnings to bolster oral health initiatives locally and nationally.

Under Sadie's guidance, Rhode Island's Oral Health Program has secured substantial grants from the CDC and HRSA, vital for advancing equity-focused projects. Her strategic partnerships across various health programs have fostered crucial collaborations, amplifying the impact of oral health initiatives.

Sadie's foresight in establishing the workforce strategic plan ensures continued progress in addressing state challenges. Her dedication extends beyond her professional roles, evident in her volunteerism with organizations like the RI Oral Health Coalition and Project Undercover, showcasing a deep commitment to community well-being.

In summary, Sadie's unwavering dedication to oral health, coupled with her exceptional leadership and collaborative spirit, make her a highly deserving candidate for the 2023 Oral Health Champion Award.

Coming Soon! - Submit a Nomination

Previous Winners

  • Libby Swan (2022)

  • Marty Dellapenna (2021)

  • Katy Linwood (2018)

  • Marie Jones Bridges (2017)

  • Jim Beasley (2016)

  • Dr. Jeffrey Dodge (2015)

  • Elizabeth H. Roberts (2014)

bottom of page